Living in the moment

Last week we had a very special houseguest,  meet Lottie a young ‘labradoodle’.  She is very cute.  And naturally all of the family were smitten with her.

10365944_10203254887524471_4239631947639705923_n

Well maybe not all the family.  Jake, our geriatric and athritic labrador (13 and a half years is very old for a lab) was tolerant as befits a gentleman, but he was a little aloof and he certainly was not up for Lottie’s bouncy games.

10338875_10203175457298765_2046930825280516788_n

 

I was worried that she might be too boisterous for Jake and that in giving her all the attention such a youngster craves he might somehow miss out.  Having an excitable, hyper active puppy around the house was more challenging than I remembered.

Then my wife commented how wonderful it was to see Lottie being so alive.  So energetic, inquisitive, loving and full of joy.  How could you not feel energised by her and adore her unquestioning love of life?

Her enthusiasm is tremendous and I started to wonder what it would take to recapture that puppy like excitement for myself.  Opening up to new experiences and enjoying the moment seems to be the key.  Living in the here and now, not analysing past mistakes or over planning the future can be joyous.

So thanks to Lottie for reminding me to live in the moment and to my wife for reminding me that simply looking at the situation in a different way utterly changes your reaction.

Oh and to Jake too – I think he secretly enjoyed having her around, after all he let her share his best blanket!

If this life is one act
Why do we lay all these traps?
We put them right in our path
When we just wanna be free

I will not waste my days
Making up all kinds of ways
To worry about all the things
That will not happen to me

So I just let go of what I know I don’t know
And I know I’ll only do this by
Living in the moment
Living our life
Easy and breezy
With peace in my mind
With peace in my heart
Peace in my soul
Wherever I’m going, I’m already home
Living in the moment

Jason Mraz

Leave a Reply

