Unbelievable

Other people’s driving really is terrible. I am the first to admit my own driving is no great shakes, especially when it comes to manoeuvres, but I do feel I have good road sense.  It often seems that some drivers have no clue what they are supposed to be doing.

Picture a three lane, light controlled, junction (left lane to turn left, middle lane straight on and right hand lane to turn right).  A car was in the left lane completely in front of the stop line, blocking a pedestrian crossing. Meanwhile a guy on a bike waiting to turn right had pulled off the road onto the pavement right across the crossing.

An elderly couple trying to cross were giving hard stares and very English ‘tuts’ at the cyclist and driver.  As the lights changed the car in the left lane started to pull right.  Some of the drivers behind were caught out by this action and in traditional London manner hit their horns.

Unbelievable.

What was he thinking?

A few nights ago, cycling home, I could hear a siren somewhere.  This is not unusual in London and I checked behind as I approached a junction.  A three lane, light controlled, junction. As I was turning right I moved into the right lane and rolled up to the Stop line as the lights turned red.There was a line of cars to the side of me waiting to both turn left and move straight on and a single car behind me waiting to turn right.

The siren was getting closer and a check revealed it was a Fire Engine approaching from behind.  I moved forwards alongside the barriers and at the pedestrian crossing entry point hopped the bike up onto the pavement.  The car behind me could then pull forwards and over to the left to allow the emergency services through.

With a blast of the sirens Fireman Sam was on his way.  An elderly couple using the crossing seemed put out that we were partially blocking their way.  When the lights changed the driver in the wrong lane started to move right, only to be met by blasting of horns as he slowed the passage of those behind.

Unbelievable.

What were they thinking?

Oh!
(What the?)
(What the fuck was that?)

You burden me with your questions
You’d have me tell no lies
You’re always asking what it’s all about
But don’t listen to my replies
You say to me I don’t talk enough
But when I do I’m a fool
These times I’ve spent, I’ve realized
I’m going to shoot through
And leave you

The things, you say
Your purple prose just gives you away
The things, you say
You’re unbelievable

EMF – Unbelievable

Leave a Reply

